Australia, Melbourne and Adelaide - ECO South Africa Sport and Travel

Go to content

Australia, Melbourne and Adelaide

Australia, Melbourne and Adelaide

Officially the Commonwealth of Australia, is a country in the Southern Hemisphere comprising the mainland of the Australian continent, the island of Tasmania and numerous smaller islands in the Indian and Pacific Oceans. Neighbouring countries include Indonesia, East Timor and Papua New Guinea to the north, the Solomon Islands, Vanuatu and New Caledonia to the northeast and New Zealand to the southeast. Australia has three time zones; Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST = GMT +10), Central (ACST = GMT +9 ½) and Western (AWST = GMT +8).  The Eastern seaboard of Australia is ten hours ahead of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT +10) from early April to early October (autumn, winter and Early Spring months). The national capital of Australia is Canberra.  There are six states; Queensland (QLD), New South Wales (NSW), Victoria (VIC), Tasmania (TAS), South Australia (SA) and Western Australia (WA). The Australian Capital Territory (ACT) is now self administrating with it's own legislature. The Northern Territory (NT), despite being self administering, can still have it's state laws overturned by the Federal Government.

Sophisticated and slick, edgy and rough, Melbourne’s physical and cultural landscape is shaped by a dynamic population, ever-ravenous for a bite of global culture. The result is Australia’s most accessible multiculturalism. Ornate Victorian-era architecture and leafy, established boulevards reflect the city’s history, and cutting-edge developments such as Federation Sq exemplify its enigmatic contemporary style. But, Melburnians still keep their urban frenzy to a deliciously sedate pace. Trams lumber back and forth on routes radiating out like spokes from central Melbourne, and cycling is a common way to get from A to Z.

Adelaide, the capital of South Australia, was planned in 1836, by surveyor Colonel William Light. The city centre has a grid of wide streets and various squares all within 1 square mile. This centre is surrounded by a green belt of 930 hectares of parkland. The main street, King William Street, runs from north to south through Victoria Square at the heart of the city. The Torrens River runs through the centre, separating Adelaide and North Adelaide. The city is surrounded by diverse landscapes, including the Mount Lofty Ranges (Adelaide Hills) and coastal beaches.
South Australia was one of the first places in the world to give women the vote in 1894, and was the first in the world to enable women to enter Parliament. See the Women & Politics in South Australia website produced by The State Library of South Australia for more. Adelaide, is well known for its art and theatre, claiming one of the best arts festivals in the world.

Back to content